It’sa Pizza Dough!

I have a serious problem.  It borders on addiction.  No, it is addiction.  It’s obessession.  It is infatuation.  I am in love with…PIZZA!  There is nothing in the world like it.  I could have it five days a week and be a very happy, fiber deprived, wife.  In accordance with my very serious and medically recognized need for CHEESE, a crispy crust, and pepperoni, I decided to learn to make pizza dough earlier this year.  It will change your life.  I swear.  Try it. Go on…try it.  I triple dog dare ya.

Here is what you’ll need:

1 tsp of active dry or instant yeast

4 cups of all purpose flour

1 tsp of salt

1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil

1 1/2 cups of water

First sprinkle the yeast over the one and a half cups of warm (not lukewarm) WARM water.  Leave this to dissolve.  Go start the laundry, grab a spoon and eat out of the tub of cool whip.  Oh wait…that was just me.

Next, in a standing mixer with the dough hook attachment, mix together the flour and salt.  Then, on low speed, drizzle in the olive oil until combined.  Get excited.  We’re getting close!

Look at my pretty kitchenaid standing mixer.  Stuffed husband picked that up for me for our very first Christmas as husband and wifey.  I love it.  I wanted to sleep with it in the bed for the first week.  I was shot down.  But I sure do love her.  Ahem, I mean it…

Back to our ‘Za.  That’s short for pizza.  Anyway.

Pour in the yeast mixture and continue to allow mixture to combine with the mixer set on low speed.  While those mix together, coat a seperate bowl with olive oil (or as MawMawa refers to it, Olive earl. yes, earl. not oil. earl.).

Form your now combined dough into a ball and place it in the coated bowl.  Toss the dough over once or twice to be sure to coat it with the earl, i mean oil.  darn it.

Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and store it in the fridge.

Ideally you’ll make the dough a day or even two days in advance.  I find that letting it sit two or three days gives the dough the best texture and flavor.  Stuffed husband really enjoys opening the fridge every two hours to see if the dough “grew”.  It makes him feel needed.  Poor guy.

I promise you will LOVE this stuff.  We sometimes even use it just to make cheesy garlic bread to add to a meal.  Later this week I’ll show you my favorite way to finish off this scrumpdidlyumtious meal.  Get hungry!  Now off to tackle the laundry that has somehow made its way out of the laundry room, through the living room, and into my closet.  God help us everyone…it’s the BLOB!

  ain’t she sweet?

Peace, love, and pasta sauce–

the hungry wife

This entry was posted in Food.

One comment on “It’sa Pizza Dough!

  1. Mom says:

    Melody this is your mother and I need you to try to make pizza dough in my kitchen….for some reason I have not been successful doing such….oh maybe it is because I have not tried….hard enough..you are awesome girl!!!

Leave a Reply

