Splendid Sugar Cookies

Because I love baking and simply can not go to bed without a drop or two of something sugary…I make cookies at least twice a month.  If not more often.

This recipe is a variation on one I used a while back from Real Simple.   Being a sugar addict, I added MORE of the yummy stuff.  MORE. I always want MORE.  MORE sugar.  MORE cheese.  MORE Law and Order: SVU.  MORE Mark Wahlberg.  MORE hot sauce.  MORE kisses from stuffed husband.  MORE. MORE. MORE. (I’m in a mood.  This could get crazy, folks!)

Let me show you how to make these lil pieces of heaven.  You will need…

Cookies:
2 and 1/4 cup flour
1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) of unsalted butter
2 cups of sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
 
Sugar Coating:
1 tsp cinnamon
4 tbsp sugar

Naturally, I forgot to take a picture of these things.  But you’re smart.  You’ll figure it out.

Preheat your oven to 350 ºF.  Start with softening your butter in the microwave, usually about 12-15 seconds for both sticks at once.  Once plyable, mix the sugar and butter in your mixer (or by hand if you’re into torture or don’t have a standing mixer.  i’m sorry for you.  really, i am.  i used to be just like you.).  Mix these together until light and fluffy.

While those two are getting all caught up in each other, in a seperate bowl combine your flour, salt, and baking soda.  Mix thuroughly.

Next, drop the eggs and vanilla into your sugar and butter mixture.  

Mix again.  Your batter will be smooth and creamy.  You could eat it just like this.  Buttttterrrrr. Sugggggarrrr.  Ok. Back to business. 

 Your batter should stick to your beater like this before you put the flour in.

Next, drop the flour in intervals.  Putting in too much at once will keep your batter from mixing thoroughly and will make your mixer bounce up and down on the counter making a beating drum noise.  You only make that mistake once. Promise, promise.

When all the flour is mixed in, your batter will thicken and cake onto your beater like this.

Now would be a good time to grease a cookie sheet, or five.  This recipe makes about 42-45 cookies.  Often times I cut the recipe in half or stuffed husband and I will take care of all 4o sumin’ cookies.  Dude. That’s a lot of cookies.

TIP: I save the wrappers from my sticks of butter and rub them face down on my cookie sheets to grease em’ up.  Mo’ butter, mo’ better. Yessir.

First, take a fingerfull of this and pop it right in your mouth.  Drop to your knees and thank God for sugar and butter and flour and…  You know where I’m going with this.  Then, drop the dough onto your cookie sheets, leaving at least one inch for your cookies to “grow”. 

 I recently bought this really great cookie scoop so all my cookies are uniform size.  Things feel more fair this way.

 Pop this into the oven for 10-13 minutes.

 Please ignore my filthy oven.  That’s one for stuffed husband’s (mile-long) honey-do list.  Poor guy.  His job is never done.

While your cookies bake, let’s make my sugar coating.  What better to put on top of a sugar cookies then…MORE sugar?!  Mix together your cinnamon and sugar.  The ratio is up to you but I like it to have a hint of cinnamon.  Nothing overpowering.  Overpower sugar?! Why?

As soon as your cookies come out of the oven, sprinkle them with a light coating of this cinnamon sugar mixture.  You will be so glad you listened to me.  So will your tastebuds.   Maybe not your waisteline.  But hey, that’s what stretch denim is for, right?

Now try not to eat all of these at once.  Unless no one is looking, then go right ahead.  Your secret is safe with me.

Peace, love, and plenty o’ sugar-

the hungry wife

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

