Mardi Gras Mambo

Because I live in the best city in the world and because it’s the best time of the year here I decided to celebrate by posting a few interesting articles I found about Mardi Gras.  Contrary to what you think you know, Mardi Gras is NOT about women flashing their tatas to get beads.  That’s what the tourists do on Bourbon.  We locals laugh at your unseeming and lousy public display.  Mardi Gras is a family celebration and a great excuse to have a good time with your friends while watching creatively decorated floats and stuffing your face with great grub and ice cold brews.  Also, learn about one my favorite Mardi Gras traditions, the scrumptious King cake.  I no longer allow myself to buy these for my home.  Something happens when there is a king cake left at my disposal.  I dispose of it using only my mouth which would be fine except that stuffed husband informed that sugar and bread do not a meal make.  Why not??

Manny Randazzo's King Cake

 

Here’s a slice I enjoyed last week.  It is lighter than a donut and sweeter than a cinnamon roll.  Basically it is perfect.  Perfectly addicting.

yummmm

Also, local Chef John Besh has blessed us with an awesome brunch menu for Fat Tuesday.  I’m hoping I can stuff my face on Tuesday and still fit in my favorite work pants on Wednesday.  For my friends who have experienced the wonder that is Mardi Gras and can’t make it here to celebrate this year, here is a little diddy to put you in the spirit. Happy Mardi Gras everyone!!! 

P.S. check in tomorrow to find out if I survived my third and FINAL midterm this week and which sweet pooch will be this week’s featured Furball.  I’m off to cram a few more key terms into my brain.  Here’s to being THIS close to the weekend.

peace, love, and bon temps–

the hungry wife

Leave a Reply

