chocolate chip coffee cookies

I gave up caffeine three years ago.  Admittedly, I have been allowing myself more and more lately.  Every time I smell the aroma of freshly brewed joe I go a little (okay a lot) weak in the knees.  I. NEED.  JAVA. 

So in an attempt to pull back the reigns on my caffeine consumption I have decided to a. give up caffeine for lent (start to pray for new orleanians now) and b. to come up with sneaky ways to get a hint of the smell or taste of coffee in other recipes.   This cookie recipe was my first attempt at that AND it turned out to be successful as evidenced by the fact that there were ZERO cookies left by the very next day.  Stuffed husband ate at least six the first night.

Cookie Monster

 

chocolate chip coffee cookie

 

Here is what you’ll need to get started:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • large eggs (I made a half batch, hence the single lonely egg)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (12 ounces)
  • Later you will also need cool whip and less than a 1/4 cup of instant coffee.

    To get started mix together your flour, salt, and baking soda in a separate bowl.  Also, preheat your oven to 350 ºF.

    In your mixer (I’m so sorry if you don’t have one.  Get one.  Beg, save, babysit, do whatever you have to to get the money.  But get one. Or we can’t be friends.) mix together the softened butter and both sugars on medium until fluffy.

    While those two get acquainted go check on your leaky and mischievously cute puppy.  Make sure she’s not peeing on anymore of your nice throw pillows.

    passed out chloe girl

    Doesn’t look like she could be doing too much harm.  Once your butter and sugar are combined drop in your eggs and vanilla and stir it all up again.  Stir it up, little darlin, stir it up.

    Next drop in your flour mixture in intervals.  I’ve said it before, I’ll type it again…DON”T dump it all at once.  The flour will be lumpy and difficult, like my thighs.  And you’ll over work your mixer and that ain’t right.  Poor thing doesn’t deserve to be mistreated.  I love my mixer.  Obviously.

    How can something so funky looking taste soooo gooood.  Now, take a fingerfull and savor it.  If you’re like me, take two or three…or four fingerfulls of dough.  It heals my soul.

    At this point you can take your bowl off of the mixer stand.  Throw in your chocolate chips.  Don’t eat these the whole time and then have to open a second bag at this point.  Wait, that may just have been me.  Anyway, mix your chips into your dough by hand.

    chocolate chip cookie dough=manna from heaven

    Now grease a few cookie sheets.  If you love me you will grease your cookie sheets with margarine or butter.  The spray stuff doesn’t do your homemade, made from scratch, tears, and sweat cookies justice.  Butter=better.  Then drop spoonfuls of your dough onto the cookie sheets leaving about an inch or two for your cookies to spread out.

    Put these babies in the oven for 10-12 minutes or until just golden brown.  Be sure to let them cool for a few before you try to eat them.  Not that I can wait.  Monkey see…do not monkey do.

    There is a cookie monster in my house.  Now let’s get on to the fun part.  Take your cool whip out of the fridge.  Only take two huge spoonfuls and place them directly into your mouth.  Trust me, this is part of the process.

    Place a spoonful on the bottom of one completely cooled chocolate chip cookie.  It is important to let the cookies cool thoroughly or your cool whip will melt right off.  Follow this dollop of creamy goodness with a sprinkle of instant coffee.

    mmmmmmmmm!!

    Now go make these for someone you love, make them for your mom, make them for yourself.  Just make them because I promise you will be so happy you did.

    No classes this week so I’ll be cooking most nights which will mean two things 1. more dirty dishes for stuffed husband, 2. more ways to procrastinate on the laundry that desperately needs attention.  I still need a maid…anyone??

    Happy humpday ya’ll.

    Peace, love, and plenty o’ whip cream-

    the hungry wife

    Leave a Reply

    