A Hot Cheese Steak Sandwich

Stuffed Husband LOVES red meat.  I enjoy a bite of his steak every now and then but could ultimately, and often do, live without red meat.  There is one guilty pleasure of course.  A hot cheese steak sandwich.  Hallelujah, Amen.

Hot Cheese Steak Sandwich

For reasons I don’t totally understand, I often opt for chicken or fish when we eat out.  Chicken tenders, chicken salad, chicken soup, chicken sandwich, chicken, chicken, chicken.  And when it’s not chicken, it’s usually tuna, shrimp, crab, or crawfish.  (side note: pepperoni is the only meat I order on pizza. period.) But this cube steak sandwich…it’s a whole ‘nother level of amazingness.  I promise this will make your mouth happy and tummy full.  Let’s get started.

Here is what you’ll need:

  • 1 pd of cube steak (this is usually available at any grocery store. it’s basically tenderized beef)
  • 1/4 cup of Worcestershire sauce
  • Bottle hot sauce
  • 2-3 tbsp of butter
  • 1 cup of chopped lettuce
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • sliced jalapeños
  • Sliced swiss cheese/Mozzarella
  • mayonnaise
  • Spicy mustard
  • Dinner rolls or pistolettes

Start by throwing some sliced onions into a skillet with butter

Let the onions cook down to a nice translucent color and transfer them to a separate bowl

Slice up a few cube steaks…try not to be grossed out at the squishy red flesh.

Season them with a little salt and peppah’ lovin (push it, push it real good)

Throw the pile of flesh into a medium-heat skillet with a little buttah

At this point, place a few slices of tomato into an oven safe dish.  Season with salt and pepper.  Drizzle a little olive oil cause it’s the right thing to do.

Let the tomatoes get all warm and yummy for about 15-20 minutes…you’ll thank me for this, I promise.

Now that your meat has had a second to start cooking, add in your Worcestershire sauce

Then a sprinkle of hot sauce because meat without heat ain’t right.  And you can quote me on that.  Ya heard?!

Throw the onions back into the mix.  They’re so tired of being alone.

Place the lid on this skillet.  Set the heat to low (simmer) for 10-15 minutes. 

In the mean time I had stuffed husband butter up my pistolletes.  He likes to butter up my pistolletes.  I hope you have someone to butter up your pistolletes.  Ok, I’ll stop.

Toast your bread for a few minutes just to get the bread soft.  Follow by adding some mayo and/or mustard.  Stuffed husband really loves when I mix pesto into his mayonaise…just like this.

Follow with your roasted tomatoes

Add a little of the juice from your meat skillet to the other side of your bun.  This will ensure your sandwich is splendidly sloppy.  Everyone knows the best sandwiches are the messiest.

mmmm.  I’m hungry all over again.  Follow with meat

Add your cheese (I used swiss and mozzarella) and pop this into the even on the broil setting just long enough to make your cheese oogey and gooey, the way God intended it.

Top with lettuce and jalapeños.  Drool.

Try to make it to the table before you swallow this guy whole.  It’s ain’t easy.

This lunch was so good, I actually thought I could die from happiness.  Food does this to me from time to time.  Especially when cheese is involved.

Try this recipe.  It is brilliantly delicious and simple a the same time.

And last, but certainly not least, here’s a new pic of Isabella because well, I just can’t get enough.  Who could?!

IsabellaBug My Love

Let me know what you think of this sandwich.  Are you more of a chicken person? Or do you crave red meat?  Are you a fan of pesto?  I’d love to hear all about what makes your tummy and tongue sing praises!!

Peace, Love, and Life beyond chicken~

The Hungry Wife

Leave a Reply

