Spicy Corn Chowder makes it alright…

Sometimes the stars align, the planets take their marks, and all is right in my kitchen.  It is rare I can admit, just like the urge to do laundry is rare (meaning basically NEVER).  This past Saturday evening was one of those rare moments in history in which I had every necessary ingredient for that recipe that kept popping up in my mind.  Does that ever happen to you?  Is it just me?  I get horribly tacky 80’s pop songs and recipes stuck in my head.  The only cure?  A little more cowbell.

This recipe is basically as simple as pulling lint from your belly button.  That’s pretty dern easy.  Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 4 slices Bacon, Cut Into 1/2-inch Pieces (or Smaller)
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 whole Yellow Onion, Diced
  • 4 cups corn (frozen, canned, whatever you like)
  • 2 whole Chipotle Peppers In Adobo Sauce, Finely Diced
  • 1 whole 4-ounce Can Diced Green Chilies
  • 32 ounces, fluid Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 1-1/2 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt (more To Taste)
  • 3 Tablespoons Corn Meal OR Masa
  • 1/4 cup Water

Heat a large pot (I used a dutch oven because it was a. clean and b. pretty) to medium high heat.  Throw some chopped bacon in for a few minutes.  Breathe in the beauty that is bacon.  I’d wear it as a fragrance if I didn’t think stuffed husband might bite me.  Follow this with your onion.

The smell will make you swoon.  Let the onions cook down for about three to four minutes.  You want them slightly translucent.  Add your buttah, let it melt.

Stir in your corn.

Let this cook for a minute or so.  Then drop in your chilis.  Mmmm.  HEAT

Give it a stir.

Pour in chicken broth.

Then add your cream (I used half and half.  I had ALMOST everything I needed).

Stir it up, little darlin, stir it up.  Add salt to taste here. Turn up the heat and bring this to a rolling boil, then reduce the heat to a low simmer. 

Next, mix some corn meal with water in a separate dish.

Dump and mix this into your beautiful bowl of blissful soup.

Finally, cover and cook over low heat for fifteen to twenty minutes.

No peeking!  I had to keep stuffed Husband away by beating him with a plastic spoon.  No wonder mothers use these to threaten their children to behave.

Serve this up with a sprinkling of cheese on top.  Enjoy!

Absolutely to-die-for.  The best part was that I had enough left over to take care of Sunday dinner.  Brilliant.

Give this soup a try.  If you like heat, and I sure do, you will LOVE this soup.

Peace, love, and pipin’ hot soup ~

The Hungry Wife

One comment on “Spicy Corn Chowder makes it alright…

  1. Melissa Garcia says:

    I love it Mel!!

Leave a Reply

