Cabin fever may cause weight gain…

A few weekends back the Gulf Coast area had a little visitor named Lee.  He was slated to visit for a few days but turned out to be more of a passer-by.  That’s a good thing considering HE was an IT, a tropical storm IT.

The impending bad weather had me stuck in doors sucking my thumb and praying for the thunder to pass.  I am not made for storm-like weather.  In fact, Chloe-girl and Bella-Bug deal better with bad weather than this puppy momma.  Honest to God.

Bella-bug bothered during a nap.

Chloe-girl begging to fetch...again, and again, and...

Once I realized the storm wasn’t going to rip the roof off of our little home or cause waters to rise up to the second-story, I decided to do what I do best…EAT.  In the mood for something sweet, I decided to bake up some Peanut Butter cookies.  I already had everything I needed and the will/craving to make something worth the calories of consumption.

Here’s what you will need:

  • 1/3 cup of butter
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup of cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt

Pre-heat your oven to 350 F.  In a mixer, if you have one because your husband loves you, you won one, or you inherited one from your Aunt Sally, cream the softened butter, peanut butter and sugars.  Make it fluffy.  Why? Because I said so.  Hey, it worked for my mom.

P.S. if you’re not a peanut butter person, replace the p.b. with regular old heaven-sent buttah.  God would allow it, I’m sure.

Once mixed, add in the egg and vanilla extract.  MIX MIX MIX. Do it now!  I’m feeling very drill sergeant today.  It must be a case of the Mondays.

In a separate bowl your husband cleaned for you because he’s a saint, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.  If you are too lazy to sift, much like myself, just mix it together well with a wooden spoon.  Baking is a place where skipping silly steps like sifting should be allowed.  Why? Because I said so darn it.  Sheesh.

Next, add the dry ingredients to your mixer in intervals until both are completely combined.

Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.  WHY?  Because I…oh you know.  Plus this makes cleaning up as easy as asking your husband to clean up the kitchen, ahem, I mean as easy as one, two, three.  Grease the aluminum foil and drop 1 inch scoops onto your tray with adequate space to bake.

Pop your sheet into the over for 8-10 minutes.  Anything longer will make the cookies crisp instead of chewy.  Trust me, you want chewy.  You need chewy. MUST. HAVE. CHEEWWWYYY.

Chewy Deliciousness.

This was the perfect treat to keep my mind off the impending doom lurking outside my window.  It also made stuffed husband very happy.  Very, very happy.  When he’s happy, we’re all happy.

I apologize for the lack of pics in the recipe.  The weather outside made lighting an issue.  I think you can handle this one without the pictures anyway.  You’ve come such a long way.  We both have.

Thanks for stopping in today.  I’ve got a Tandoori chicken recipe in the works that will make you sing Hallelujah.  Coming soon!

Happy Monday Ya’ll!

Peace, love, and peanut butter goodness-

The Hungry Wife

Leave a Reply

